02
Nov
09

Having To Say You’re Sorry

Do you ever have those days when you just get “snappy” with your kids?  I had one of those days today.  Something happend with my 14-year-old daughter and I said, “Look into my eyes; do I look like I want to have this discussion with you today? Do you really want to go there.”  She paused, said no, then walked away.  I felt bad, but at the same time, was glad I tried to end it.  “Tried” is the key word here.  It didn’t seem to end.  However, she wasn’t the issue; I was.

If I’m being honest, I think I needed to get the days frustration out and she seemed like the easy target.  She did something  “wrong”, however small,  and I took the opportunity to make a big deal out of it.

So, what do we do when we have days like this?  We can’t take it back can we?  Although, we can certainly say we’re sorry, that we were wrong, and ask for forgiveness.  We should do this for two reasons.  For one, it’s the right thing to do.   For another, we lead by example;  we teach them to do the same thing.

Take a moment and ask yourself if there’s anything you need to apologize for, and if there is, don’t waste a moment more.

0 Responses to “Having To Say You’re Sorry”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

